Latest News and Issues

13 September 2010 - GLRL thanks key supporters of adoption reform

The NSW Gay and Lesbian Rights Lobby (GLRL) would like to thank the many individuals, community organisations, child welfare agencies and NSW Parliamentarians that made passing the Adoption Amendment (Same-Sex Couples) Bill possible.

The GLRL acknowledges the advocacy and leadership of the past GLRL convenors. Special thanks must also go to Ghassan Kassisieh and Professor Jenni Millbank for their advocacy and research in same-sex parenting.

ACON, National Children and Youth Law Centre, Inner City Legal Centre, Women’s Legal Service, Hawkesbury Nepean Legal Centre, Barnardos, Uniting Care, Council of Social Services NSW and Association of Child Welfare Agencies were instrumental promoters of adoption equality.


Many NSW Parliamentarians worked tirelessly to ensure the introduction and passage of adoption legislation. Clover Moore (Member for Sydney) was responsible for introducing the Bill in June this year. Penny Sharpe, Don Harwin, Catherine Cusack, Trevor Khan, Linda Burney and Verity Firth worked across party divisions to ensure support for the Bill.


Premier Kristina Keneally and Opposition Leader Barry O’Farrell not only permitted a conscience vote on the legislation, but also added their own personal support to end unfair discrimination.


Thanks must also go to every MP and MLC who supported this Bill. In the Legislative Assembly: Alan Ashton, Stuart Ayres, Diane Beamer, Gladys Berejiklian, Peter Besseling, David Borger, Matt Brown, Linda Burney, David Campbell, Robert Coombs, Geoff Corrigan, Michael Daley, Peter Debnam, Victor Dominello, Dawn Fardell, Verity Firth, Robert Furolo, Tanya Gadiel, Pru Goward, Shelley Hancock, Brad Hazzard, Kerry Hickey, Judy Hopwood, Sonia Hornery, Kristina Keneally, Phil Koperberg, Paul Lynch, Andrew McDonald, Jodi McKay, Paul McLeay, Alison Megarrity, Clover Moore, Matthew Morris, Barry O'Farrell, Paul Pearce, Adrian Piccoli, Greg Piper, Nathan Rees, Frank Sartor, Jillian Skinner, Carmel Tebbutt, Frank Terenzini, Russell Turner, Steve Whan, Daryl Maguire and Gerard Martin.


In the Legislative Council: John Ajaka, Ian Cohen, Catherine Cusack, Luke Foley, Jenny Gardiner, Kayee Griffin, John Hatzistergos, John Kaye, Trevor Khan, Robyn Parker, Melinda Pavey, Greg Pearce, Peter Primrose, John Robertson, Christine Robertson, Eric Roozendaal, Penny Sharpe, Mick Veitch, Ian West, Helen Westwood, Don Harwin and Lynda Voltz all supported the reform.  


Finally, the GLRL would like to thank all members of the community who took action to remove the LAST piece of direct legislative discrimination against same-sex couples in NSW.